If I Stay: Book Review

If I Stay book cover Book: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Publisher/Year: Dutton Juvenile/2009

Genre: YA Fiction

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

Who’s going to be in the movie?
Chloë Grace Moretz (Kick-Ass500 Days of SummerHugo)
No one else worth talking about

When can I watch it?
This summer. It’s going to be released August 22, 2014.

What’s is about?
Mia Hall is 17 years old in a coma after a horrible car accident. While comatose, Mia has an out-of-body experience and can see all her friends and family gathering at the hospital where she is being treated. In the midst of watching her friends and family grieving, she experiences flashbacks and relives some of her most important memories. Then, she realizes that she has to decide whether she wants to wake up and live a life harder than anticipated, or if she wants to slip away into her coma and let herself die.

What did you think?
I didn’t enjoy it as much as everyone else in the world seemed to enjoy it, but I liked it. It definitely made me think and shed a tear or two. When I read I often end up putting myself in the position of the characters and that made reading this book hard and emotional. It’s hard to imagine what I would do if I were in Mia’s situation — to have one moment change my life so drastically and then to have to decide whether or not I want to keep living my life (which has been changed for the worse, forever). It takes me 20 minutes to decide if I want chocolate or swirl soft serve ice cream, so there’s approximately zero probability that I could make a decision like this.

One thing I didn’t love about the book was that all the characters were a little too perfect. Mia came from a perfect little family with the perfect boyfriend who was in a band. A little bland. Although I do have to admit that I loved her boyfriend, but who doesn’t love perfection? It’s really easy to love a character that has minimal to no flaws. If he did have a flaw it would be in his dramatic actions. He gets to be a little theatrical and pulls some over-the-top moves when Mia is in the hospital which I can see rubbing a lot of the people the wrong way, but I’m a dramatic person too so I thought he was great.

Something else that not everyone will love about the book is that I got a little bit of a “chick flick” vibe from it. It could get a little sappy which sometimes I didn’t mind and sometimes I felt like side-eyeing Chloe. But most of the time I was into it.

Should I read it?
It’s a decent read, I wouldn’t list it as a top priority but you should probably add it to the reading list. You can get a copy here or here.

One thought on “If I Stay: Book Review

Leave a Reply

