The 2 Websites Every Book Lover Must Know

I’ve talked about about both of these websites in my posts, but it’s time you know more about them and why they are amazing.

1. Goodreads
Goodreads logo

I joined Goodreads about a year ago and, as an emphatic bookworm, it’s one of the best things to happen to me. It’s a social network but for books instead of people. *Heaven open, angels sing* HALLELUJAH! The book gods have spoken, and they are pleased. Goodreads is the best way to keep track of books you want to read, organize the books you’ve read, see what books your friends have read and it will even suggest books you might like based on your book ratings.

You can create different “shelves” and organize your books however your heart desires. I love organizing my books because: 1. I’m a little OCD; and 2. It makes it very easy to find books to suggest to friends. I read so many books that I cannot keep track of them all, but I can just look at my Goodreads shelves, see what I rated different books and make recommendations accordingly.

Another great thing is that you can be as social or antisocial as you want and still get a lot from the website. You can connect with your Facebook friends and see what books they’ve read and how they rated them, you can join an online book club and join in conversations to make new friends, or you can never friend anyone ever and just find great books to read. All legitimate options and equally great choices.

2. Thriftbooks
Thriftbooks logo

Thriftbooks is probably the greatest thing to happen. Ever. Its tagline is “Spend less. Read more.” Are you kidding? What is more perfect than that? Besides a brunch date with Harry Styles, nothing. Up until my discovery of Thriftbooks, the biggest struggle of my life was deciding whether to buy or borrow books. My dream is have a library of my own, a room just filled with books upon books that are all mine. But, as a constantly broke college student, it’s hard to justify buying books when you can take them from the public library for free. On the other hand, it’s impossible to grow a library if you always have to return the books you read.

Enter Thriftbooks — the answer to all my prayers. This magical website is a place where you can buy books for cheap. So. Cheap. I’m talking $2.89 cheap. Not all the books are that cheap, but you can get most books for a single digit price. There’s also some great 3 for $7.99 deals. They’re used but you can choose whether you want “Good,” “Acceptable,” etc. But all the books I’ve gotten have been in great condition. I’m not fancy, I don’t need brand new books. As long as it’s readable and there aren’t any actors on the cover, it’s good enough for me.

But wait! There’s more! The shipping is FREE! *fireworks explode and chocolate rains from the sky* You can order any book and it will ship anywhere in America absolutely free! You can even get a 50¢ discount if you order more than one book from the same location. They also offer gift cards which makes the perfect gift for any bookworm. *hint hint*

One thought on “The 2 Websites Every Book Lover Must Know

Leave a Reply

