Insurgent: Movie Review

Insurgent Movie Poster Movie: Insurgent

Director: Robert Schwentke (REDThe Time Traveler’s Wife)

Writers: Brian Duffield, Akiva Goldsman and Mark Bomback

Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Romance

Length: 1 hour 59 minutes

Rating: ♥ ♥ ½ – Average

Stars:
Shailene WoodleyShailene Woodley as Tris

Theo James Theo James as Four/Tobias

Kate Winslet Kate Winslet as Jeanine

Miles Teller Miles Teller as Peter

Ansel Elgort Ansel Elgort<3 as Caleb

Read the Insurgent book review!

Make sure you see Divergent first.

Remind me what it’s about…
In the aftermath of Jeanine’s (Winslet) attack on Abnegation, Tris (Woodley), Four/Tobias (James), Caleb (Elgort) and Peter (Teller) seek refuge in Amity. There, they regroup and come up with a plan to find the remaining loyal Dauntless. But when traitor Dauntless soldiers arrive in search of divergents, they must quickly change their course of action. Yet again on the run, Tris and Tobae-as search for safety while they strategize a plan of attack on Jeanine and the traitor Dauntless.

What did you think?
As 10 Things I Hate About You philosopher Chastity would ask: “I know you can be overwhelmed and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?” If we were in Europe, I would say that I was exactly “whelmed” by Insurgent. I didn’t love the book, so I wasn’t expecting to love the movie either and sadly I was right. It was enjoyable but there was nothing really special about it and I’m not dying to see it again despite it’s stellar and gorgeous cast.

To be completely Candor, the cast is the best thing about the movie. Insurgent was casted to perfection; not only do the actors perfectly portray the characters but just about everyone is absolutely gorgeous. I’m clearly not cut out for Abnegation because I’m so vain that I simply enjoy watching beautiful people be beautiful for two hours. Not that the rest of the movie was bad — it was entertaining, but it didn’t excite me in anyway.

Was it a good adaption?
Not really… It started off fairly true to the book but then took a sharp left into Imaginationville and changed quite a bit. The overall plot line and end result remained pretty on point with the book, but the path to the end was very different. Oddly, this didn’t offend me as much I would have thought. I think it’s my lack of investment. I felt meh about the book, so I didn’t have high hopes for the movie. Somehow the movie managed to be about as good as the book (not that good) but in a totally different way.

Should I watch it?
Eh. I wouldn’t advise you pay to see it in theaters, but might be worth a night of watching it online/renting it from RedBox once it comes out.

Here’s the trailer.

Leave a Reply

