Ten Books I Recently Added To My To-Be-Read List

I’ve decided to partake in the popular weekly meme by The Broke and The Bookish called “Top Ten Tuesday.” Each week there is a new Top Ten list for bloggers to respond to and talk about. This week it’s ten book you recently added to your (presumably ever growing) to-be-read list. I had to defer to my Goodreads shelf because I lose track of my mental too easily…here are 10 of my books tbr.

1. Paper Towns by John Green
paper towns book cover
I can’t believe I haven’t read this yet considering how much I loved The Fault In Our Stars. I think I’m one of the few female YA book fiends who hasn’t read all the John Green books yet. But with the movie coming out later this year I’ll definitely have to read this one soon.

 

 

 

2. One More Thing: Stories and Other Short Stories by B.J. Novak
one more thing stories and other short storiesAnother hilarious TV writer/actor’s autobiography. I’ve read Tina Fey’s Bossypants and Neil Patrick Harris’ Choose Your Own Autobiography (absolutely brilliant idea) and laughed out loud through the both of them. I love his writing on The Office and The Mindy Project so I’m sure I’ll love his writing in One More Thing: Stories and Other Short Stories.

 

 

3. The Minds of Billy Milligan by Daniel Keyes
The Minds of Billy MilliganThis true story is about a man with multiple personalities (24, to be exact) who was arrested for various kidnappings and rapes. I heard about this book when Leonardo DiCaprio was cast to play Billy Milligan. It sounds really interesting and like it has potential for Leo to finally get the Oscar everyone is dying for him to win.

 

 

4. Single, Carefree, Mellow: Stories by Katherine Heiny
single carefree mellow storiesI found this collection of awkward short stories in one of my daily Skimm e-newsletters. They described it as “a book of short stories about relationships and dating that’s kind of like ‘The Affair’ meets ‘Friends.'” As a an awkward “Friends” aficionado, I quickly found this on Goodreads and clicked “want to read.”

 

 

5. The November Criminals by Sam Munson
The November CriminalsThis is another book that’s going to get a movie makeover and it will reunite Ansel Elgort and Chloë Grace Moretz on the silver screen. I’m a huge fan of criminals and Ansel Elgort, so before I even knew what November Criminals was actually about I knew that I was going to read it. But it’s about a high school drug dealer who starts investigating the murder of one of his classmates. Count me in.

 

 

6. Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff
Playlist for the DeadI have no idea where I heard about this book but it reminds of another book I recently read, Thirteen Reasons Why (about a girl who committs suicide and leaves behind 13 cassette tapes she recorded). This one’s about a teenage boy who tries to understand his best friend’s suicide by listening to the playlist of songs he left behind. Playlists can be like diary entries, so I’m curious to see how these songs play into the story of this character’s life and death.

 

 

7. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
The Rook bookThis is the first of The Checquy Files series, it’s about a girl who wakes up to finds a letter that stars “The body you are wearing used to be mine.” Color me intrigued. I don’t remember where I first heard of this one either, but I’m always down to start a good YA book series.

 

 

 

8. 1984 by George Orwell
1984 book This is a classic that I think I read in the seventh grade but don’t remember. I’m pretty sure that I liked it and in my twentysomething effort to be cultured/well-rounded, I figured I should revisit this Big Brother novel.

 

 

 

9. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Fangirl a novelI’m pretty sure every avid book reader is a fangirl/fanboy on at least some level. I for one am a loud and proud fangirl for a dozen books/movies/celebrities/tv shows/anything and everything. This feels very “chick flick” (not necessarily in a good way) but I’m assuming I’ll be able to relate to the main character as a fellow fangirl. I’ve also read a few good reviews on it, so I figured I might as well give it a shot.

 

 

10. A Storm of Swords by The Devil Himself George R. R. Martin
A Song of Ice and Fire #3Speaking of fangirl… This is the third book in George R. R. Marin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series that inspired the HBO favorite Game of Thrones. This is one of the only times I’ve watched a show/movie before the book and will continue to do so. I started the show on a whim and it has changed my life (for the better and worse). Since I loved the show so much I knew I would have to read the books. I’ve read the first two and couldn’t put them down even though I knew what was going to happen. Especially with Game of Thrones season 5 coming out, I’m very excited to read this one.

 

What books are on your tbr list? Which of these books do you think I should read next? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

