Top Ten Characters I’d Like To Check In With

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is about revisiting old characters − meaning, the book or series is over and you wish you could peek in on the “life” you imagine they are leading years down the line after the story ends. Here are 10 characters I would like to check in with (in no particular order):

*spoilers*

1. Harry Potter from Harry Potter
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone bookIsn’t he on everyone’s list? I’m dying to find out more about how The Boy Who Lived lived on after Voldemort’s defeat. J.K. Rowling graciously wrote a prologue at the end of The Deathly Hallows, but I need more than just a chapter! Does Harry even know how to live when someone isn’t constantly trying to torment/kill him? This whole list could easily be 10 characters form Harry Potter, so let’s just assume I get the 411 on them while I’m checking in with Harry.

 

2. Ponyboy Curtis from The Outsiders
The Outsiders book coverDid he stay gold?!

 

 

 

 

3. Nick & Amy Dunne from Gone Girl
Gone Girl book cover
So…what happened? The ending so disappointing and open-ended (but not in a good way). This is among the most underwhelming and frustrating endings of all time (along with How I Met Your MotherDexter, and The Prestige). Did Amy actually get away with all the crazy shit she pulled? Did she have the baby? How is Nick handling all of this? What is Amy going to try to do when she realizes that a baby won’t make them happy and isn’t going to save their marriage (because she’s out of her damn mind)?! I would settle for any answer. Especially one that puts Amy in jail.

 

 

4. Scout Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird first editionHow did the trial affect Scout growing up? Did she grow be as brave and intelligent as Atticus taught her to be? Did she follow in his foot steps to become a just and moral lawyer? What about Jem? Just tell me everything.

 

 

 

5. Jonas from The Giver
The Giver book coverAs I find this book on Goodreads, I see that this is a series (or “quartet,” as Goodreads describes it). Without look too deeply into them (to avoid spoilers) I don’t see Jonas appearing in the rest of the quartet. Since I didn’t know there were sequels to the story, the only one I’ve read is The Giver. Thinking that I read all there was to be read, I’ve wondered about Jonas. Did he die at the end? That’s how I first interpreted it but I know there are varying opinions. If he and baby Gabriel lived, how did they fare in a world outside of The Community?

 

 

6. Charlie Gordon from Flowers for Algernon
flowers for algernon bookOh, Charlie. His story really breaks my heart. I think Charlie was happy in the end, but I’d like check in and see what he is up to and if he is being treated fairly.

 

 

 

7. Gale Hawthorne from The Hunger Games
The Hunger Games book coverThankfully Suzanne Collins wrote an epilogue that let us see what Katniss and Peeta are up to, but there was very little on what happened to Gale. Is he happy with his life? Is he still in love with Katniss? Probably, because she’s the heroine of a YA series and everyone is always in the love them. But did he ever have kids? What’s the government like? What are Katniss and Peeta’s kids’ names?!?!

 

 

8. Inigo Montoya from The Princess Bride
the princess bride book coverHow is life for Inigo after finally seeking his revenge? Did he become the next Dread Pirate Roberts? Does he actually feel happy/at peace now that he killed his father’s murderer? I’d also be hoping to find out everything I could about Westley and Buttercup.

 

 

 

9. Xander Carrow from Matched
Matched bookI think this is the only YA post apocalyptic series with a love triangle (a seemingly specific category that describes a million books) where the lead character didn’t end up with the person I shipped him/her with. I definitely preferred Xander over Ky. Even though I could tell Cassia would end up with Ky, I was still disappointed in the end. I love Xander and I want to know if he found love again and what he is doing with his life now.

 

 

10. Jacob Black from Twilight
Twilight book cover*sigh* I don’t even like Twilight any more. I first read the series when I was in high school and loved it (Past Briana didn’t know any better, she was young and dumb). But even so, I’m really curious to see what happened with Jacob and Renesmee. He imprinted on a half vampire baby who is gonna stop aging as a teenager? (I think?) But does Jacob still age? I don’t remember. I think they are both going to be the same age one point where their relationship will theoretically go from brother/sister to romantic…? Gross? Or not? I’m fuzzy on the details. Maybe I don’t want to know about Jacob and Renesmee after all.

 

What characters would you like to check in with?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I’d Like To Check In With

  1. *high five* for picking Xander over Ky, I’m really curious about him too! I didn’t necessarily want him to end up with Catniss, but with someone else who would make him happier, I felt so bad for him throughout all 3 books…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Have you heard about J.K Rowling writing a script featuring the life of the naturalist (I believe) Newt Scamander? He is the grandfather or the boy who marries Luna. So it kind of works.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes! I’m excited about it. He’s also the author of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, have you read that? It’s part of the Hogwarts Library collection.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I haven’t, I need to buy them too, the only companion novels I’ve read was The Tales of Beedle the Bard

        Like

Leave a Reply

