Monday Movie Meme: Encore Presentation

Thanks to Molly from the wonderful Bumbles Blog for creating this meme! This week’s theme is: Encore Presentation. Make sure you check to what the upcoming Monday Movie Memes are!

If you respond to the meme on your blog, make sure you link back here and add your post to the Linky widget below.
Monday Movie Meme

What kind of movies do you tend to watch over and over again?
Walt Disney logoThe genre of movies I most often play on loop is probably animated movies, and it’s usually Disney. Not only are they childhood favorites, but watching as an adult 22-year-old child I can appreciate jokes or subtleties I missed as a child. Kids/families are so fun and happy, and I’m pretty much always in the mood for them. I have a Toy Story tattoo with my sister, The Lion King is my favorite movie of all time, I base all my decisions on emulating Princess Jasmine and have an extraordinary list of cartoon crushes including Aladdin, Dmitri, Flynn/Eugene, Jack Frost and Tadashi. These are the kinds of movies that I will watch at pretty much any time, and movies I often choose as my watch-a-movie-while-I-go-to-sleep movie.

Also anything with a Boston accent and/or heist.

What’s the movie you’ve watched the most?
The Lion King RafikiThe Lion King. Probably. I have no actual way of knowing this but it’s my best guess. This was the first movie I saw in theaters and it was love at first sight. I loved The Lion King before I even saw it, I would watch the preview for it on my Aladdin (which is probably a close second) VHS tape and get so excited every time the music started. I listened to the soundtrack before the movie came out, so I already knew all the words before I saw the movie. I was three-years-old so I don’t remember, but I’ve been told that soon as “The Circle of Life” started playing in the theater I got so excited I stood up on my chair and started singing. I was so in love with The Lion King my parents took me to see it several times and I referred to the movie theater as “Mufafa’s House,” thinking showing The Lion King was the only purpose of the building. I was none too pleased when one day my parents took me to see Pocahontas and “Mufafa” was nowhere to be seen.

Needless to say, soon as I had the VHS tape I watched The Lion King on repeat pretty much for the next 10 years. At that point I got the DVD and I still haven’t stopped watching since then.

What’s a movie you’ve only seen once but want to watch again?
FocusFocus starring Will Smith and Margot Robbie. I have a sick obsession with cons and heists. I also have a sick obsession with Will Smith (and his family). So a movie where Will Smith plays a con artist was destined to be an instant favorite for me. I remember the first time I saw the trailer for this, I went to see Horrible Bosses 2 (another movie I want to see again) and I nearly shat my pants in the theater from excitement.

I went to see it opening weekend and obviously loved it. Not only do I want to see it again because I liked it so much, but I always like watching con/heist/plost-twisty movies again and try to find the clues/hints I didn’t catch the first time. Knowing the end of the movie allows you to appreciate the beginning and set up for what’s about to happen so much more. You can really see how everything ties together.

Make sure your add the link to your post (not your blog) here:

One thought on “Monday Movie Meme: Encore Presentation

Leave a Reply

