Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is a freebie! Naturally, I chose top ten book to movie adaptations. Without further ado, let’s get to the books.

top ten tuesday

1. The Outsiders
The Outsiders book cover
The Outsiders movie posterThe Outsiders movie is so true to the book that it’s barely an adaptation and more of a book actually brought to life on screen. The book was essentially the script for the movie it was so accurate.

 

2. Catching Fire
Catching Fire book
Catching Fire movie posterThe Hunger Games was disappointing for me. It wasn’t a terrible adaptation, but it was really frustrating because there a few little things they could have changed to make it so much better. Since I wasn’t thrilled about Sam Claflin playing Finnick and I didn’t love the first movie, my expectations for Catching Fire weren’t great. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. This movie was so much better than the first and I couldn’t be more pleased with how it turned out.

3. The Perks of Being A Wallflower
the perks of being a wallflowerThe Perks of Being A Wallflower movie posterI love this book and movie. The only real flaw that I have with the movie adaptation is that Charlie isn’t quite awkward enough. In the book he was so painfully socially inept, and while he was definitely awkward in the movie it was to a much less extent. But I’m obsessed with Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller in this movie — it was cast to perfection.

4. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
The Girl With The Dragon TattooThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie PosterThis is one of the rare instances where I liked the movie more than the book. The book was good, but it was too long and had too many dull parts for me. The great thing about the movie was that it cut out all the boring parts! I really liked parts of the book and those were the only parts in the movie, so I loved this adaptation.

5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban bookHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban movie posterPrisoner of Azkaban is arguably the best in the Harry Potter series (only Goblet of Fire  can compete with it imho) and quite possibly the best adaptation. The first three movies are all really good adaptations — it’s much easier to make a good adaptation when the books are shorter. While I love the entire book and movie series, Prisoner of Azkaban is the best adaptation.

6. The Maze Runner
The Maze Runner bookThe Maze Runner movie posterI love this movie and book so much. All the changes in the adaptation made so much sense for the movie and worked extraordinarily well. I’m very hopeful for Scorch Trials except I don’t like how they cast/styled Brenda for the movie…so we’ll have to wait and see if the sequel can live up to the first one.

7. Labor Day
Labor Day BookLabor Day movie posterThe book was terrible and the movie was just as horrendous. Perfect adaptation, awful movie.

 

 

8. Gone Girl
Gone Girl book coverGone Girl movie posterDisappointingly accurate adaptation. This book was one of the best I’ve ever read…until I got to the end. I don’t think I’ve read anything with such a disappointing ending (and I’ve read Allegiant). The movie was the same way — thrilling, suspenseful, exciting but…ultimately disappointing. The movie was actually more disappointing because we were all led to believe the ending to the movie would be completely different, but it spot-on with the book.

9. The Fault In Our Stars
The Fault In Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars movie posterBoth the book and movie were heart-wrenching and sob-inducing. I’m convinced that Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort were born to play Hazel and Augustus. They were the perfect leads and I couldn’t imagine anyone else playing the part any better. There are obviously some differences but nothing that bothered me too much. The only issue I have is that Augustus is such an unrealistically book-perfect boyfriend that reads really well, but can come off a little cheesy in reality. But don’t get me wrong, I’m absolutely in love with him, okay?

10. The Princess Bride
the princess bride book cover
The Princess Bride posterGreat book, great movie. When I first read the book I legitimately thought it was the abridged version and when I found out it was all part of the story I loved it so much more. I love how they incorporate that story into the movie as well, everything about it is just wonderful.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations

  1. Gone Girl has to be the most accurate book to movie adaptation I’ve ever seen, although I have to admit, like you I was disappointed that they kept the book ending because I hated the ending. Catching Fire was a great adaptation too. I liked The Maze Runner movie, but there were a couple of things they changed from the book that I wasn’t too thrilled about. Goblet of Fire was my favourite movie and favourite book, but Prisoner of Azkaban is definitely my second favourite. I have seen the Perks of Being A Wallflower movie, but have yet to read the book. I’m hoping to read it soon.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/19/top-ten-tuesdays-5/

    Like

Leave a Reply

