The Scorch Trials: Book Review

The Scorch Trials book coverBook: The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner, #2) by James Dashner

Publisher/Year: Delacorte Press/2010

Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopia

Pages: 360

Rating: ☆☆☆ ½ – Good

Who’s going to be in the movie?
Dylan Bæ’Brien (the funny friend in Teen Wolf and the moody, sarcastic one in The Internship)
Ki Hong Lee (Dong from Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt)
Thomas Brodie-Sangster (the adorable love-struck child in Love Actually)
Aidan Gillen (Petyr “Littlefinger” Baelish from Game of Thrones)
Nathalie Emmanuel (Dany’s interpreter and Grey Worm’s boo in Game of Thrones)

When can I watch?
September 18.

Make sure you read The Maze Runner book first!

What’s it about?
Thomas’ shitty life. There is so much more going on with WICKED than anyone thought; The Maze was only Phase I and the Gladers were only Group A, there’s a whole new Phase and a Group B they have yet to encounter. Thomas and the Gladers thought their troubles were finally over when they escaped The Maze, but that was only the beginning. In The Scorch Trials, the Gladers find themselves trapped in their dormitory with no food or water, until a WICKED representative (Gillen, maybe?) tells the boys about Phase II: The Scorch Trials.

When the Gladers hear about what is in store for them, they wonder if they were better off in the (relative) safety of The Maze.

What did you think?
I’ve read it twice and liked it better the first time around. There was a lot more time spent before the actual Scorch Trials began than I remembered, so it felt like it was dragging a little until it got to the “good” part. In my Maze Runner book review I mentioned how I couldn’t put the book down even though I read it twice…that was not the case with The Scorch Trials. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the book, just not as much as I thought I did (or as much as The Maze Runner).

I still love Thomas, Minho and Newt just as much, although there’s less Minho and Newt than I like. But the introduction of Brenda helps lessen the blow of missing two of my favorite guys. When I first met Brenda I did not like her, but as the story progressed she really started to grow on me and she ended up being one of my favorites. But I think I liked her more the first time I read it…or maybe I didn’t start to really like her until the next book.

Another factor that affected my second reading of The Scorch Trials is that the first movie altered my opinion of some characters and the new characters had already been cast. After The Maze Runner movie I liked Teresea a lot more than I did in the book and that carried over into reading The Scorch Trials. Additionally, I really liked Brenda and imagined her to look like Shay Mitchell and not at all how they cast/styled her in the movie. So I was frustrated while reading scenes with Brenda because I knew she was going to be different in the movie.

Should I read it?
Yes, it’s worth a read. I don’t how you can read The Maze Runner and not want to find out what happens next/what happened before to get them to that point.

The trailer was released yesterday and it looks really good. From the trailer it looks like the movie is going to diverge even more from the book but I don’t hate it…if they can pull it off I might actually like it more than the book. *gasp*
For more thoughts check out The Scorch Trials Trailer Breakdown!

2 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials: Book Review

Leave a Reply

