Monday Movie Meme: Sports

Thanks to Molly from the wonderful Bumbles Blog for creating this meme! This week’s theme is: Sports. Make sure you check to what the upcoming Monday Movie Memes are!

If you respond to the meme on your blog, make sure you link back here and add your post to the Inlinkz widget below.
Monday Movie MemeWhat’s your favorite sports comedy?
Space Jam Michael Jordan shootingSpace Jam! Even though it’s 90-minute Michael Jordan ad, it’s hilarious. Do you have any movies that you particularly love to see are on TV? This is a movie that I love to see on TV. Even though I own it and won’t necessarily pop it in at any given time, I will always change the channel if I see Space Jam while scrolling through guide. (This also goes for JumanjiHocus Pocus, and Homeward Bound.) Like Kid President, I believe this is Michael Jordan’s best work. This movie always makes me happy and if they make a Space Jam 2 with Lebron James it will be the worst thing to have ever happened in recorded history.

What’s your favorite sports drama?
Oy, this is harder. I love so many sports movies. There’s the baseball movies: Field of DreamsBull Durham42; the football movies: Radio, The BlindsideRemember the Titans; and the boxing/fighting movies: WarriorThe FighterRocky.* They all fill me with emotions and excitement and love and ohmygosh I just love sports movies so much. I don’t know if I can honestly pick one favorite, but as a temp favorite for the sake of the post I’m going with Remember the Titans.

Remember the Titans dance gifIt took me way too long to watch this movie. It’s one of those movies I knew I would like and had been “meaning to watch” but never actually got around to it. I love sports movies and movies about integration/overcoming racism and that’s exactly what this movie is. One day last year I finally sat down and watched Remember the Titans and fell in love immediately — and I do mean immediately, I’m talking the movie just started and I was already yelling to my roommate in the next room about how I hated myself for not watching this sooner.

*Confession: I haven’t actually seen Rocky but I’m assuming as soon I do (which will be soon) that I will love it. I imagine I’ll be pulling another Remember the Titans.

Who is your favorite sports movie hero?
Jackie Robinson 42 at bat gifWell, my favorite sports hero (and hero of any kind) is Jackie Robinson. I’m not sure if he counts as a “movie hero” because he was a real man, but I’m going with it. The only Jackie Robinson movie I’ve seen is 42 and I loved it! The story was obviously great and it was so well done. I’ve read so many books/articles about him and did my high school report on him, so I was happy that the 42 movie did him justice.

Jackie Robinson made the biggest impact (with the help of Branch Rickey) that any sport has ever seen. What makes him even more special to me is that baseball is one of my favorite things in this world or any other, so it means so much to me that it was baseball that initiated such an important change to the sport culture. And as I mentioned earlier, I love anything about the civil rights era and integration…so I basically worship him.

Make sure your add the link to your post (not your blog) here:

Leave a Reply

