Monday Movie Meme: Déjà Vu

This week’s theme is: Déjà Vu. It’s all about the best and worst of movie remakes. Make sure you check to what the upcoming Monday Movie Memes are!

If you respond to the meme on your blog, make sure you link back here and add your post to the Inlinkz widget below.
Monday Movie Meme

What are some re-makes that are better than the original?
OThe Parent Trap Sisters? Hallie, we're like twins! gif LIndsay Lohanne of my favorites is definitely The Parent Trap. To be honest, I haven’t seen the original in its entirety but I’ve seen enough to know that the Lindsay Lohan version is far superior IMHO. However, I did see the remake first and grew up with it, which no doubt affects my strong preference for it. But I don’t know how anyone can dislike this fun family flick. It’s got Oreos with peanut butter, Leonardo DiCaprio, wine and the most iconic handshake.

Arthur-doesn't-trust-horsesUnpopular opinion: I like the Arthur re-make more than the original. It’s hilarious. It probably has a lot to do with my age and different generations, but I loved the Russell Brand version of Arthur. I did watch the original first, but I wasn’t wowed by it. On the other hand, the re-make made me laugh out loud and I could watch it again and again. I love the freak show that is Russell Brand and I don’t think I’ve seen him in anything I didn’t like.

Two of my favorite movies that I didn’t know where re-makes are The Departed and Homeward Bound. Apparently these gems aren’t totally original, Homeward Bound was even a children’s book before there was any movie. Now I need to look into these and see what the originals are like.

What re-makes are just the worst?
The only re-make I’ve seen that was truly horrible is Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryI hated this movie; it was weird and made me really uncomfortable. Johnny Depp’s Willy Wonka was too bizarre, the oompa loopas were too creepy, the children were too annoying…even though I love Johnny Depp, this movie was just too much for me. You can’t do better than the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

Side Note: I am very excited for the all-female Ghostbusters re-make! The cast looks phenomenal and I predict a huge success, hopefully one of the best in 2016.

Make sure you add your link to you post (not your blog) here:

Leave a Reply

