Monday Movie Meme: Show Tunes

Thanks to Molly from the wonderful Bumbles Blog for creating this meme! This week’s theme is: Show Tunes. Warm up your voice and dust off your dancing shoes, this one’s all about musicals. Make sure you check to what the upcoming Monday Movie Memes are!

If you respond to the meme on your blog, make sure you link back here and add your post to the Inlinkz widget below.
Monday Movie MemeWhat’s your favorite musical movie?
This is a tough one. Aside from the Disney musical movies, I really love RentChicagoSweeney Todd and Rocky Horror Picture Show. But my all time favorite is probably Grease.
GreaseI’m never not in the mood to watch Grease. I love a lot of movies, but none might be as fun as Grease. Whenever this movie is on my body reacts pavlovianly with song and choreographed dance. It’s campy, it’s catchy, high schoolers are played by 30-year-olds and it’s all wonderful. I am convinced there is no way anyone with a soul can watch Grease and not thoroughly enjoy themselves. Not only is it laugh out loud funny (the literal laugh out loud, not the straight faced “lol” text laugh out loud), but the songs are great too. I listen to belt out “Summer Nights,” “Grease Lightnin”, “We Go Together” and “You Are The One That I Want” (and pretty much the whole soundtrack) on a regular basis. IT’S SO FUN.

What’s the best musical number in a movie?
I’ll give you a hint: Pop. Six. Squish. Uh uh. Cicero. Lipschitz.Cell Block Tango
You guessed it: “Cell Block Tango” from Chicago. It’s hot, it’s passionate, it’s led by Catherine Zeta-Jones and it’s impossible not to be infatuated by the six merry murderesses of to Crookem Country Jail. These ladies are fierce and sexy and I love every second of this number.

What musical was really meant for the stage and shouldn’t have been made into a movie?
Les MiserablesI haven’t seen any movie musicals that really disappointed me in comparison to the stage production, but (sadly) I haven’t seen too many Broadway shows. I saw the Les Miserables movie and wasn’t a fan, but I’ve been told by many people that I shouldn’t judge the show based on the movie. I can’t really saw from my own experience, but I’m hoping the Les Mis movie didn’t do it justice and that it’s really meant for the stage.

What Broadway production are you still waiting to see on the silver screen?
Wicked posterI can’t wait to see Wicked as a movie! I’ve seen it three times and it’s easily my second favorite musical production (beaten only by The Lion King and it’s a close call). The music is fantastic, the story is genius and the whole production is just…wow. There is very little known about the Wicked movie but it is finally going to happen. I just hope that they get Idina Menzel and Kristen Chenoweth to star in it because anyone else playing Elphaba and G(a)linda would feel wrong. Even though I’m very excited for this to be a movie, I’m trying to keep my expectations low because I know there is no way the movie will be able to touch the stage production. It will be impossible to capture the drama and intensity of “Defying Gravity” on a screen. But it still should be good movie.

Make sure you add your link to you post (not your blog) here:

Leave a Reply

