Heist Society: Book Review


Heist Society by Ally CarterBook:
 Heist Society by Ally Carter

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Year: 2010

Genre: YA, Mystery, Crime

Pages: 304

Rating: ☆☆☆ ½ – Good

Who’s going to be in the movie?
There might not even be a movie, right now it’s under option at Elizabeth Banks’ production company. But hopefully it does get made into a movie and I’m thinking it should star YA Queen Chloë Grace Moretz and late 90s Leonardo DiCaprio.

What’s it about?
Kat has to bid adieu to her family’s life of crime. All Kat’s known her whole life is theft and cons until she became a normal student at a normal prep school. But that life doesn’t suit Kat as well as she hoped and is quickly thrown back into the life of crime when her father is accused (and threatened by a powerful mobster) of a heist he didn’t commit. Kat is now back at her literal partner-in-crime’s side, heartthrob Hale, to find the missing paintings and prove her father’s innocence.

What did you think?
Obviously I loved it. It’s a YA book with heists and mobsters so there’s almost no way I wouldn’t like it. I read this one twice because I went to start the third book in the series only to realize that I had forgotten almost everything that happened all the way back at the start of series. I will say that I enjoyed the book more my first time through, but that’s true of most books. As I read the story started coming back to me, but it still kept me rapidly turning page after page.

One thing that I really like about Heist Society is that heist squad is all teenagers. I especially loved that aspect when I first read because I was a teen and felt like I could join the team…now I’m old and it makes me sad (and my crush on Hale much creepier). But it’s still the only heist story I know where young people are the cons/thieves. The other heist stories are about adults – which are still great, I just really like the new teen perspective.

The only negative thing I have to say about Heist Society is that the characters aren’t super original or particularly deep. It’s a little cookie cutter; there’s the main girl who is smart, brave, stubborn and doesn’t realize how people see her/her beauty, the hot guy best friend who is super suave, the really beautiful girly girl who knows how beautiful she is, the nerd, the brawny brothers… All the characters were fun and I liked them, I just felt like I had seen them before.

Should I read it?
Yes! It’s a really quick and fun read. You can buy Heist Society at Thriftbooks and at Amazon.

One thought on “Heist Society: Book Review

Leave a Reply

