The Ultimate Book Tag

First, I’d like to thank Summer at xingsings for tagging me in The Ultimate Book Tag. While I don’t truly see this as the actual ultimate book tag…I decided to play along anyway. Without further ado, let’s get to the tag.

The Ultimate Book Tag

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
I’m not sure…I used to all the time when I was younger, but I haven’t tried in a long time in fear of getting sick.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
First one that came to mind was Tahereh Mafi (author of Shatter Me) because she crosses out so much of the narrative and then says something different. At least in the beginning, her main character would say/think a whole paragraph that would be crossed out and replaced by a single sentence. It happens less frequently as the story goes on and as she gains more power/confidence, but I thought it was really unique.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
Harry Potter. Obviously.

  • The story is better
  • The writing is better
  • Everything is better

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?
I hate holding things so I don’t usually have a bag, I try to put anything I need in my pockets. But if I do need a bag for whatever reason I usually have either the book I’m currently reading or The Outsiders, pens, a crossword puzzle book, chapstick, a small notebook, lotion, nail clippers and there’s usually receipts/ticket stubs/etc.

5. Do you smell your books?
When I get new book or one comes in the mail I usually give a good sniff in excitement.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.
I just like little illustrations at the beginning of chapters, like in Harry Potter.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
Twilight and Shatter Me.

I read Twilight when I was in high school before anyone knew what it was and I loved it. I was totally obsessed with the series, I had a t-shirt and everything. Then after I saw the first movie I realized that it’s actually terrible.

The first time I read Shatter Me I absolutely loved it, I couldn’t put it down and couldn’t wait for the next book to come out. I made my best friend read it and when he finished he said he knew why I liked it so much, Juliette (the main character) is so dramatic and he felt like he was reading what goes on in my head. So I read it again keeping what he said in mind and found it to be absolutely true. Juliette’s stream of thoughts are so over-the-top in a way that is hilarious and annoying (which I often find true about myself). She spits out the most dramatic things about the most casual situations, such as: “My heart is a water balloon about to explode. My lungs are swinging from my ribcage. I feel as though every fist in the world decided to punch me in the stomach.” I have also been known to say dramatic things, so it didn’t surprise me that I didn’t notice how dramatic Juliette was in my first reading. Even though the writing is really cheesy, I still love this series.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
I don’t think so? I used to get in trouble for staying up too late reading but I think that’s true for a lot of bookworms out there.

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?
Probably The Outsiders.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
I’m not at home and I’d have to check that one.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
I only write for my blogs. The only book I could see myself writing is an autobiography (not that I honestly believe I’ll ever be known well enough that it will ever be a book I need to write). I do love writing, but I don’t think I’m an author.

12. When did you get into reading?
I’ve loved reading since I was a little kid, throughout middle school and high school I always I had a book with me. Freshman year of college I took a break from being a bookworm, I don’t know how or why. But sophomore year when I read The Hunger Games I remembered how much I love reading and haven’t stopped reading since.

13. What is your favourite classic book?
I haven’t read that many, but my favorite is To Kill A Mockingbird.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?
Mr & Mrs Smith

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?
I’d accept it and be grateful, then probably sell it online or regift it.

16. (Apparently Question 16 was supposed to be here, but now it’s disappeared?)

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
Not posting regularly.

18. What is your favorite word?
Serendipity. I love how it looks, sounds and what it means.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
I’m not sure if my associations with these words align with everyone else’s, but I consider myself more of a dork. A little bit of nerd. Not at all a dweeb.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Uhm…vampires? I haven’t read any fairy books.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
Shapesifters because of Animorphs. (I haven’t read any angels books either)

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
I don’t really care for either?

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?
Vampires, I don’t love either but I’m really not into zombies at all.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Neither? But if I had to pick I would probably pick forbidden love because I’ve read way too many love triangles.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
Definitely action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in.


Here’s who I tagged:

Katie @ Bookish Tendencies
Jenn @ A Daily Rhythm
James @ Book Guy Reviews
CK @ CK’s Reading Corner
Poulami @ Daydreaming Books
Casey @ Inspired By The Page
Todd @ ToddMedicii
Becca @ Becca and Books

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. I liked reading your answers. Thank you for tagging me but I just did this a few says ago, here’s the link if you wanna check it out -https://crazyinsomniacbibliophile.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/the-ultimate-book-tag/

    Like

Leave a comment