Reader Problems Book Tag

I went looking at various book tags and thought this one would be really fun. I owe this one to Casey @ inspiredbythepage (her blog is awesome), who found it at toddmedicii‘s page who found it on Katytastic‘s BookTube channel. On to the tag!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
I don’t have a system for picking what to read next. Sometimes it’s because I just found out a movie is coming out in the near future, it could be binge reading a series or just that a book on my shelf jumped out at me for no particular reason at all.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
This used to be much more of a problem for me. I’m pretty obsessive compulsive and used to have the hardest time finishing books I hated because I absolutely refused to abandon it. But after reading a few pretty crappy books in a row I had an epiphany. Forcing myself to sit down and read a book I hate was not how I was going to spend my time. I love reading, and if I have to force myself to finish a book then I’m wasting time I could be spending reading a book that I actually enjoy.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
Oh man do I hate losing. It’s especially terrible not meeting the Goodreads Reading Challenge because I literally (or literarily, hehe) set myself up for failure. Last year I tried to catch up by reading the 3 books from the Hogwarts library (which take no time) but still came up short. It’s devastating, but sadly I don’t have a surefire secret way to always meets the Goodreads Reading Challenge.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
Curse the world. I hate when things do not match, I would probably try to accumulate the missing matches and gift or sell the mismatched books if it was a series I really love. If it has actors on the cover I would burn it. (Just kidding I would never ever do that to a book but just making a point. I detest actors/movie art on the cover of books)

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
The Internet, hopefully. Or one of my best friends likes to read almost as much as I do and we generally agree on books, so we bond often. Although he doesn’t read as much as I do so sometimes I have to turn to fellow bloggers until he catches up.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
I am definitely a crier. I have ugly cried reading books, thankfully not in public. While I’ve shed a few tears on the train or on a park bench, I haven’t full out lost it in a public place (yet). But I can’t stop reading, especially at such an important/emotional part. I have to power through and cry in public, haters gonna hate (hate hate hate hate).

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads?
Definitely not skip the sequel. It depends how much I liked the first one and how quickly I read it. If I loved it and/or it was a quick read I would likely read it again. But if I only liked it or it took a long time, I would try to find a synopsis online or ask a friend who read it. Maybe read my blog if it was a book I reviewed.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
I do let my friends borrow my books…but they know I love my books more than I love them so they know to handle them with great care. When anyone asks to borrow I book I feel two emotions simultaneously, immediately and intensely: 1. YAY! BOOKS! SOMEONE WANTS TO READ BOOKS! IT’S SO GOOD, YOU SHOULD READ IT! WE CAN TALK ABOUT IT AND IT WILL BE GREAT; 2. THIS IS MY BABY YOU CAN’T TAKE MY BABY! WHAT IF YOU HARM MY BABY?!

9. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
I wish I knew the answer. I think just takes a really good book, but there’s no way of knowing what book will do it for me until I start reading it. Generally, I don’t like to be reading two books at the same time, so if I’m in a reading slump with a book it can take me a while to finish. If it’s a bad book I’ll put it away and start a new one, but if it’s a good book and I’m just in a slump…I don’t have a cure.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
It depends on the cost tbh. I love owning books and want to have Belle-sized library one day so I’ve stopped borrowing library books, but as a twentysomething drowning in debt I can’t really afford it. So, I always turn to one of my favorite book sites Thriftbooks to buy my books. It’s a brilliant way to buy used, cheap books (with free shipping!). But the books I want aren’t always available or still too expensive for me. I almost always wait until the price is a single digit before I buy it. Unless it’s a series and I really can’t wait to read it, then I’ll splurge.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
There is no one answer, sometimes a book comes in and I start reading right away. But there are some books on my shelf that I probably bought over a year ago that I still haven’t read. It depends on if it’s in a series, if the movie is coming out, on my mood…pretty much the same answer as the first question.


This was a fun one! Here’s who I tag:
Summer @ xingsings
Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts
Emily @ Books and Cleverness
Poulami @ Daydreaming Books
Katie @ Bookish Tendencies

4 thoughts on “Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. I have the problem you used to have with reading bad books! I just can’t find the will to put it down! You’re answer is starting to make me think that it’s ok to put it down but I feel so guilty… Great tag!

    Like

  2. I agree with you completely about the lending books question. My books are my babies, and I hate the feeling of a missing book, which sounds so selfish and awful. Sigh. Anyway these are some great questions, thank you for tagging me! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

